Cherwell Business Awards, get, set, Launch!!!!!

Cherwell Business Awards 2017 logo

We are delighted to announce the official LAUNCH of the Cherwell Business Awards 2017, the Business Awards for North Oxfordshire based businesses on Tuesday 1st November 2016.


The Awards, now in their 6th year, continue to grow and establish a solid reputation within the North Oxfordshire business community and serves to showcase and celebrate the excellent business people and organisations we have here in the Cherwell District.

The launch will be held on Tuesday 1st November 2016 at Norbar Torque Tools Ltd from 8am onwards and local organisations can book a place by emailing

At the Launch you will have the opportunity to meet our sponsors and previous winners, to hear more about the awards, how you can enter or simply nominate a local business you will feel worthy of recognition, as well as details of the Awards Dinner, which will be held at the stunning Heythrop Park on Friday 5th May 2017.

Greg Woodhead of British Bakels, winner of the Cherwell Business of the Year 2016 and Established Business of the Year 2016 commented at our last Awards Gala Dinner when asked what it meant to win an Award:

Bakels celebrated our 25th anniversary in Bicester during 2015 and we we also celebrated its most successful year ever, it felt natural for the management team to want to celebrate this and entering the Cherwell Business Awards seemed like a great opportunity. During the application and judging process, we have had the opportunity to meet with peers from very different businesses in the area and to share interesting perspectives of common factors that affect our very different businesses. It has been, at every point, a very satisfying journey. Although I think it’s fair to say that the judges would all make formidable poker players, such was the degree to which winning took us by surprise.

“Winning the Spratt Endicott Established Business of the Year and the Norbar Torque Tools Cherwell Business of the Year Awards are an acknowledgement of the hard work and commitment of the whole Bakels team over the past few years to build a forward-facing and growing company that is a responsible and valued member of the community. The awards are especially gratifying given the high level of competition shown from the other businesses that were nominated. Working in such a competitive and fast paced environment as the food industry can often lead to us all overlooking how much we are achieving; to have this recognised by respected peers in other companies is an incredible confirmation that we are following the right path.”

The Organisers would like to reiterate our Thanks to our Headline Sponsor Cherwell District Council and our Award Categories Sponsors, without them these awards would not be possible. You can find out more about the 2017 Award categories at:




There are ten categories that businesses can either be nominated, or self-nominate, for plus an overall winner. The award categories and sponsors are:

1. The A2Dominion New Business Award

2. The Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership Small Business


3. The Bicester Vision, Bicester Chamber and Wednesday Breakfast

Club (Bicester Contingency) Micro Business Award

4. The Natwest Employer of the Year Award

5. The Spratt Endicott Established Business Award

6. The Ellacotts Business Person of the Year Award

7. The Bicester Village Retail Award

8. The Oxon Apprenticeships Apprenticeship of the Year Award

9. The Begbroke Science Park Innovation & Creativity Award

10. The Michael Page Charity and Community Award

11. The Norbar Overall Business of the Year Award

There is no separate entry for the Norbar Overall Business of the Year Award. The winner will be decided upon by the sponsor of this award chosen from the finalists of any of the other 10 categories.


The timetable for the awards is as follows:

1. Entries can be submitted from 1st November 2016, and the shut

off date for receipt is 31st January 2017.

2. In February 2017 all applications will be assessed and judged, with

the finalists announced in March 2017.

3. Winners will be announced at the Gala dinner and awards

ceremony in May 2017.